Posts Tagged Agustí Charles

Agustí Charles premieres “Lord Byron” in Germany

Posted by Cristina Martí on March 9, 2011  |  Leave a comment

On 12 March in Darmstadt, the composer Agustí Charles premiered his opera “LByron, un estiu sense estiu“ (LByron, a year without a summer), commissioned by Darmstadt’s Staatstheater and scheduled for the 2010/2011 season.

In Spain it will be premiered at the Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona on 25, 27 and 28 June 2011, with the participation of the choir of the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Orquesta BCN216. In Germany, on the other hand, it will be performed on nine occasions over the coming months. Both the Liceu Theatre and the Teatros del Canal are involved in this production, which will also be staged in Madrid.

Marc Rosich’s libretto sets the action in Europe after the defeat of Napoleon at Waterloo. While he was losing on the battlefield, the Tambora volcano in the Pacific Ocean erupted, releasing a cloud of toxic ash that covered the entire planet and perturbed the order of the seasons. The cloud, accompanied by violent storms, reached Geneva in the summer of 1816, leaving an unusual group of English exiles trapped in their summer home: Lord Byron, Percy B. Shelley, his lover Mary, Mary’s stepsister, Claire Clairmont, and Dr John Polidori. A gathering in the middle of a “year without a summer”, which gave rise to two of the most important texts in Gothic literature: Frankenstein and The Vampire.

Orchestra, choir and voices construct an all-enveloping sound space that situates the listener at the centre of the opera, on the stage, which also serves as an important instrument, with even the percussion located in the hall itself, and including subtle amplification that enables the public to delve into the subconscious of the characters and deduce their obsessions.


Collection Música Breu

Posted by Cristina Martí on January 18, 2011  |  Leave a comment

Interludi Manuel Garcia Morante

Tritó Edicions is pleased to present the new collection of chamber music scores. Titled Música Breu, it consists of a series of short Spanish pieces for chamber orchestra.  In December the following titles were published, which you can obtain in the shop:

Preludio a Melisendra, by Agustí Charles
Interludi, by Manuel García Morante
Interludi de Castertelçol, by Josep María Mestres Quadreny
Interludi amb música antiga, by Xavier Benguerel
Intermezzo, by Miquel Ortega
Octet, by Benet Casablancas
Interludi, by David Padrós

Agustí Charles at the Nou Sons Festival

Posted by Redacción on March 6, 2008  |  Leave a comment

This year, as well as focusing on music from Japan and its dialogue with the West, Nous Sons, Barcelona’s leading festival of contemporary music, also highlighted three outstanding Catalan composers of our day: Benet Casablancas (Sabadell, 1956), Jep Nuix (Barcelona 1955-1998) and Agustí Charles (Manresa, 1960).

Each of these musicians followed a path of his own in composition to an international reputation. The festival featured a performance by the Arditti Quartet, a group that always arouses the interest of the public due to its precise interpretations and the strong personality of its founder Irvine Arditti. The quartet’s concert on 23 February featured the much lauded premiere of Agustí Charles’ String Quartet No. 2, a work that possesses, in the words of Jorge de Persia, “a strong presence, in a profile it maintains throughout the piece, with tension” (La Vanguardia, 25-02-08). On 1 March, the Plural Ensemble conducted by Fabián Panisello, also included in its programme an emblematic work by Agustí Charles, Unstable Surface, premiered in 2005. Over the piece’s ten-minute duration, the timbre of the different instruments plays a decisive role, defining the evolution and harmonic changes.

Three world premieres: Parra, Torres and Charles

Posted by Cristina Martí on May 3, 2007  |  Leave a comment

Particular mention should be made of the three works that will be premiered during these first two weeks of May: Leaves of Reality, by Hèctor Parra and performed by the Arditti String Quartet, and El misterio del agua, by Jesús Torres and interpreted by the Equaliter Ensemble, can be heard at the Tàlia Theater during the XXVI edition of Ensems, the International Contemporary Music Festival of Valencia, on May 8th and 9th respectively, while Elapsed Memories by Agustí Charles will be performed for the first time on the 12th May, in a concert at the Auditori de Barcelona given by the OBC under the baton of Jacques Mercier.

Agustí Charles premiers Primary Colors

Posted by Marcel Soleda on March 20, 2006  |  Leave a comment

agustin charlesOn the occasion of the opening of the Kasimir Malevich exhibition, Agustín Charles premieres his latest composition on Monday 20 March in the auditorium of La Pedrera in Barcelona. Primary Colors was written for three female voices and four percussionists, on commission from Obra Social de Caixa Catalunya, the organizer of the exhibition. The concert features the group Drumming, led by Miquel Bernat. There will be a repeat performance on 27 March, at the same place and with the same players.

Agustí Charles premieres his Concerto for Orchestra

Posted by Marcel Soleda on November 14, 2005  |  Leave a comment

agusti charlesThis coming 22 November, on the Feast of St Cecilia Day, patron saint of music, the Auditorio Nacional de Música in Madrid hosts the premiere of Concerto for Orchestra by the Catalan composer Agustí Charles. The work, which won the 2004 Joaquín Rodrigo Award (Premios Villa de Madrid), will be performed by the Community of Madrid Orchestra, conducted by José Ramón Encinar.

This is not the only work by Charles that will be heard in Madrid in November: Seven Looks, which was performed by Madrid Symphony Orchestra on 8 October, will be played again on 17 and 18 November by the RTVE Orchestra.

Seven Looks by Agustí Charles

Posted by Marcel Soleda on October 4, 2004  |  Leave a comment

Last July Tritó published Agustí Charles’s work Seven Looks, marking the start of a publishing relationship with the composer. The work took first prize at the second annual conducting competition organized by AEOS (Spanish Association of Symphony Orchestras) and sponsored by the Valparaíso Foundation. Seven Looks will be performed by the association’s 27 member orchestras.

The premiere is scheduled for February 2005 at the Auditori in Barcelona in a concert by the OBC conducted by the maestro Vasily Petrenko.

RSS Subscription

Shops and Distributors
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Tritó S.L. - Enamorats, 35-37, baixos - 08013 Barcelona (Spain)
Phone: +34 933 426 175 - Hours: Monday to Friday (9am - 6pm) GMT+01:00
Payment methods
Payment methods:
Trustwave Seal Server
Certified by: